YouTube Tumblr Twitter FaceBook RSS_Feed
David Anthony Colarusso - Sadly not Havoc Dinosaur
Intermittent musings on the law, science, education, technology, design, and life. Also, I build things: furniture, software, reasoned arguments... To learn more about that, click a persona below for my eponymous website.

So Long and Thanks for All the the Fi[lm]

by David Colarusso - April 13th, 2013

Slightly Mad Science!
Jamie Nichols, winner of the First Annual Phylm Prize.

Since 2007, I’ve run the Annual Phylm Prize. Pronounced “film,” a portmanteau of physics and film, the prize aimed to spur the creation of physics videos on the web. It’s a name I’ve given a number of physics/film projects–including a curricular unit for physics teachers. I presented the unit at the 2003 summer meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers. After moving to teach physics in Edinburgh and becoming a YouTube user, I launched the Phylm Prize to help the lesson’s spirit live on while I taught away from my home school.

This year, I’m sorry to say, I’m throwing in the towel. Last year’s prize didn’t attract a critical mass or entries, and I fear that without promotion beyond my means, the same would be true this year. That’s right, the Phylm Prize is on an indefinite hiatus. That being said, the goal of the prize was to foster the creation of quality educational content on the web, and I am happy to say that a few of the prize’s alumni have risen to the level of minor Internet celebrities. That being said, I thought I’d take this blog post as an opportunity to remember where we’ve been.

Fourth Annual Grand Prize Winners

Henry Reich and Derek Muller

For the first time, the prize was shared between the two top videos. Both Derek and Henry are producing more content, and it’s worth checking it out on their respective sites (i.e., Derek’s videos, Henery’s video). As a former physics teacher, I can’t help but appreciate the thought that Derek puts into his work. Henery too!

Henry Reich (MinutePhysics)

Derek Muller (Veritasium)

Third Annual Grand Prize Winner

Terio Ruiz

According to Terio’s physics teacher Sean Kepple, Terio a student of his in the LA public schools, just came in one day with this Relativity Rap. Mr. Kepple asked if he could enter it into consideration for the phylm prize, and the rest is history.

Yes, I know Terio left the units off of his numerical value of the speed of light. Terio’s response when confronted with this was something along the lines of “it didn’t fit,” and as a judge we decided to let it slide just this once. ;)

Second Annual Grand Prize Winner

Colin Stuart

This piece was made by Colin when he was still in University. Last I heard he now works as a science communicator and freelance astronomer. More of his early videos can be found on his YouTube channel Science Made Fun.

First Annual Grand Prize Winner

Jamie Nichols

Jamie was the winner of the first ever Phylm Prize, and he has continued to make science videos under the Slightly Mad Science moniker. You can find them here.

Entry Filed under: Phylm Prize

Leave a Comment


Required, hidden

Some HTML allowed:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

   DISCLAIMER   |   youtube    tumblr    twitter    facebook    google+   |   art portfolio   |   email - phone